Alliance for Safe Online Pharmacies Names the Winners of the 2017 Global Patient Safety Champions Award

This year Alliance for Safe Online Pharmacies (ASOP) has inaugurated a Global Patient Safety Champion award to recognize individuals and organizations that are working to protect patient safety and preserve the gold standard of FDA approval for all American patients.

ASOP chose Congressman Michael C. Burgess, Congressman Eugene Green and the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy as the first recipients of the Global Patient Safety Champions Award.

ASOP Executive Director Libby Baney explained why Congressman Burgess was chosen; “When several members of the U.S. House of Representatives introduced legislation this year that would enable Americans to buy medicine from foreign online pharmacies, Dr. Burgess responded with compelling facts and sound policy arguments against drug importation, making clear that patient safety comes before politics.”

Baney also noted, “Congressman Green was a critical voice of reason during this year’s drug importation debates, and has consistently advanced policies that help ensure Americans have access to safe, U.S. FDA-approved medicine.”

The National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) has been fighting fake online pharmacies since 1999, and publishing an annually updated “not recommended” list of online pharmacies since 2008.

During the presentation of the awards Executive Director Baney explained why these awards were given and the importance of fighting to protect patients from counterfeit drugs. “Keeping consumers safe and protecting the U.S. prescription drug supply are critical priorities that require solutions involving business, healthcare providers, patient safety organizations and governments coming together and being vigilant in the face of threats from illegal online pharmacies. ASOP Global is proud to call Congressman Burgess, Congressman Green and the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy our first Global Patient Safety Champions.”

Click here for more information about the Alliance for Safe Online Pharmacies.